Learn More About the Consequences and High Cost of DWI in Texas
The DWI consequences Texas drivers have to face are so severe you might want to think twice about driving while intoxicated. For one, the offense will remain under your name for very many years, and of course, you must be prepared to cough a lot of money out of pocket. Here are a few of the ways in which you will end up paying the costly price of DWI in Texas.
Be advised that every time you repeat the same mistake, you will end up paying more than you paid for the first time. Whenever there is a repeat of the same, the legal recourse means you end up paying a price that matches the magnitude of the DWI offense in question. DWI first time offender attracts a fine of up to $2000 payable out of pocket, of course. In case you end up in jail, you can remain in there for a period of about three days to six months as a first time offender. Add to that the possibility of losing your driving license for up to a year and as if that is not enough, you will be expected to be paying $1000 more every year just to maintain your license. Second time offenders, on the other hand, will have their penalties and cost doubled, with a fine of up to $4000, a one year jail term or more, and the license canceled for up to two years. Certainly, you should expect to pay out of pocket a whopping figure that is beyond $1000 every year if you are to retain your DL as a second time offender.
As if the cost of maintaining your car isnt high enough, you may need to pay more if you are to keep driving your car if you are a DWI driver. Assuming you are a second time offender having repeated the same mistake in five years or less, be ready to put in more cash to maintain your car on the road. This is in addition to paying the above-mentioned charges, the judge handling your case may have you install a special device in your car. The device acts as a Breathalyzer, and it is mandatory that you blow on it all the time before you start driving your car. Brace yourself to maintain that tiny device at the cost of $100 every month and note that this is mandatory in Texas when faced with DWI charges.
You may also be expected to enroll for a driving refresher course to learn and update yourself on the rules and regulations of driving in Texas. Further, expect to come out of the refresher course fully reminded of DWI consequences in Texas should you end up going against the driving rules and regulations.